reorder Garage Gym Built Logo
home

Home

rate_review

Reviews

view_list

Builds

person

Log In

Garage Gym Reviews

Our mission is to inform, inspire, and connect the Garage Gym Community. We want you to get the most of your money, time and performance.

We provide in-depth and honest reviews on everything fitness related.

fitness_center
Start Garage Gym Build
list
View Latest Reviews
build
See User Builds
message
Ask GGR

New + Updated Reviews

New + Update Review Featured Image

Rogue Echo Bike vs. Assault Air Bike: The Superior Home Gym Air Bike

The Rogue Echo Bike and Assault Air Bike are two of the most popular air bikes on the market today. We've used both extensively in our home gym and commercial gym over the past three years. Although either is a good choice over the older style air bikes, the Rogue Echo Bike and its belt-driven system is our recommended choice for most home gym owners.

Products Tested in Our Community

Our community provides unbiased reviews on thousands of pieces of fitness equipment.

Barbells Image

Barbells

301 Rated

Squat Racks Image

Squat Racks

250 Rated

Bumper Plates Image

Bumper Plates

58 Rated

Pull-Up Bars Image

Pull-Up Bars

27 Rated

Conditioning Equipment Image

Conditioning Equipment

306 Rated

Fitness Technology Image

Fitness Technology

117 Rated

Recovery Tools Image

Recovery Tools

48 Rated

Shoes Image

Shoes

53 Rated

Kettlebells Image

Kettlebells

40 Rated

Dumbbells Image

Dumbbells

26 Rated

Join The Community

Build your virtual garage gym and we'll provide real-time pricing from nearly every fitness retailer on the internet. Once assembled, you can share your equipment list with others, upload pictures to get feedback from the community and rate and review based on your experiences.

01

browse
equipment

Garage Gym Reviews provides 1000's of pieces of fitness products, reviews, and pricing suggestions for the community.

Browse Equipment

02

build & share
your garage gym

Build your equipment list with Garage Gym Reviews based upon our reviews and community ratings. Once built, you can share it with community for feedback and ideas.

Build Your Garage Gym

03

review & discuss
equipment

Review equipment, ask questions on compatibility, share DIY instructions, and help others experience the freedom of working out at home

Review Equipment

Latest Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

Angles90 Grips In-Depth Review: Cheap, Effective Pulling Handles

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

Angles90 are a simple, yet highly effective set of handles that is purported to increase the range of motion and require more body tension during various pulling workouts. After using Angles90 for nearly two months for all sorts of movements like deadlifts, shrugs, rows, pull-ups, and more, we can confidently recommend to anyone that wants to vary their grip for different bar based pulling (and some extension) movements.

Rep Fitness HR-5000 Half Rack Review: High-End, Feature-Filled Squat Rack Image

Rep Fitness HR-5000 Half Rack Review: High-End, Feature-Filled Squat Rack

by Coop | updated 6 months ago

The Rep Fitness HR-5000 Half Rack is the best squat rack Rep Fitness has released and is a foretaste of things to come. Featuring a number of features seen on high-end racks, the Rep HR-5000 is a legitimate contender to the Rogue Monster and Sorinex XL Racks at a lower price thanks to it being imported among other things. If you want a deluxe rack at a slightly lower price, this is a great option.

Eleiko Öppen Deadlift Bar Review: The Best Trap Bar Currently Available Image

Eleiko Öppen Deadlift Bar Review: The Best Trap Bar Currently Available

by Coop | updated 3 months ago

The Eleiko Öppen Deadlift Bar is a trap bar that utilizes an open-ended concept, barbell handles, and a built-in jack to create the best trap bar we have tested. Although expensive, the Öppen Deadlift Bar is an extremely useful and innovative specialty bar that we recommend to anyone with a desire for the best and doesn't mind paying for it.

Oak Club James Hook J-Cup Review: Best Sandwich J-Cup We've Tested Image

Oak Club James Hook J-Cup Review: Best Sandwich J-Cup We've Tested

by Coop | updated 28 days ago

The Oak Club Mfg James Hook is the most over the top sandwich j-cup we've ever tested and reviewed. It's massive, uses a unique Mag Pin to prevent swaying, uses a gigantic, slanted piece of UHMW plastic and is expensive. We think it's completely unnecessary, which is one reason we like it. If you have the money to spend on a special set of j-cups, these are a great option. However, these are not for most people due to the price point.

Best-in-Class Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

The Best Squat Racks for 2020 [Buying Guide]

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

The squat rack is the centerpiece of just about every home and garage gym in the world. As such, it should be versatile, durable, useful, and fit the space it will be used in.Based upon our use, experience, and community input, we've compiled the best power rack, half rack, squat stand, and fold-away squat rack for most people—including recommendations for various budgets.Here are our picks for each category for 2019.

The Best Olympic Barbells for 2020 Image

The Best Olympic Barbells for 2020

by coop | updated 21 days ago

After researching over 150 barbells and using nearly 85 of them, we've determined that the Rogue Bar 2.0 is the best multi-purpose Olympic Barbell and the Rogue Ohio Power Bar is the best powerlifting bar for most people for 2020. Factoring in price, warranty, performance, and availability, these bars stand out amongst the rest. We'd rather not have the same company hold both of the top spots, but it's hard to argue against the value these bars provide.

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020 Image

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020

by Coop | updated 4 months ago

After wearing and testing nearly every current shoe designed for general training and CrossFit type workouts, we've determined that the best training shoes for 2017 are the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves. Although this is a fierce debate and our runner-up could easily hold the top spot depending on preferences, we find that overall, the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves are the best shoes for training.

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020 Image

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

After researching over 70 bumper plates, using 32 of them, we've determined that the best bumper plates for most people are the FringeSport Bumper Plates. The best competition bumper plates for most people are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Taking into consideration rubber used, durability, noise, appearance, price, warranty, and availability, these bumper plates will work well for any home gym, commercial gym, or CrossFit Affiliate.

Guide Articles   View All

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes Image

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

Building a home gym can be an enjoyable and rewarding experience; it can also quickly become one of the most frustrating and expensive endeavors you take on. There’s no right or wrong way to build your own home gym, many of the decisions and processes you pick come down to personal preference, however with this quick guide, you can ensure it goes as smoothly as possible.

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness Image

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness

by Coop | updated 9 months ago

Titan Fitness is known for making budget-friendly home gym equipment. However, wading through the vast amount of equipment they sell and determining which is worth buying and which isn't can be difficult. We've used, arguably, more gear from Titan Fitness than anyone in the world (other than employees of the company) and are taking our experience as well as others to provide recommendations on the best equipment available from Titan.

101  Home Gym Ideas, Tips, and Tricks Image

101 Home Gym Ideas, Tips, and Tricks

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

Over the years, we've compiled some of the most helpful home gym ideas as well as tips and tricks for making your gym, whether in your garage, basement, or spare bedroom a productive and enjoyable place to workout. Here are over 100 ideas you can use for your home gym. If these don't make you want to build one, we have no idea what will.

Do-It-Yourself Equipment   View All

Feature Article Image

DIY Squat Rack Guide

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Squat Rack is the centerpiece for just about every home gym in the world. However, some people don't have the money or desire to buy a pre-made option. This is where the DIY Squat Rack comes in...

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack Image

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Having a home gym is one of the best parts of adulthood. But, something that can be even more fun is being able to workout outside. In steps the DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack. Enjoy this weekend project.

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica Image

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Crossover Symmetry is a program designed to strengthen the shoulder girdle leading to fewer injuries and an increase in lifts. This is how you can make your own DIY version.

DIY Belt Squat Machine Image

DIY Belt Squat Machine

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Belt Squat Machine is one of the most coveted pieces of gym equipment available today. Although there are many options, including those made by Westside Barbell, Pit Shark, Matt Wenning, and others, they're all pretty pricey. This DIY Belt Squat Machine requires no special skills and costs well under any other available options.

Newly Released Products   View All

Feature Article Image

Nike Metcon 5 Shoes Leaked (PLUS Mat Fraser's Edition)

by Coop | updated 11 months ago

The long-awaited Nike Metcon 5 Shoes have been leaked, and along with them, a new collaboration between 3-Time CrossFit Games Champion Mat Fraser and Nike. These are one of the most popular CrossFit shoes and this colorway is sure to be a hit.

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench Image

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench

by Coop | updated 3 months ago

Rep Fitness has just released their new Competition FB-5000 Flat Bench after seeing the success of their other benches as well as the Rogue Thompson Fat Pad. At a value price point, the FB-50000 Competition Flat Bench is sure to be a great option for those looking for great alternative to the Rogue Monster Utility Bench.

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released! Image

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released!

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

FringeSport is producing some of the best value bumper plates available. With the Contrast Bumper Plates being released, you can now have their popular bumpers with a way to easily identify the weight.

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series  Image

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series

by Coop | updated 11 months ago

The Rep PR-4000 Power Rack is Rep Fitness's answer to the ever-popular Rogue Monster Lite. Combining high strength steel, unique colors, and a ton of accessories, the Rep PR-4000 should prove to be a beast of a rack at a price that is quite a bit cheaper than Rogue offerings.

Garage Gym Reviews
ON

Stay Strong, Live Long
© Garage Gym Reviews All Rights Reserved