reorder Garage Gym Built Logo
home

Home

rate_review

Reviews

view_list

Builds

person

Log In

Garage Gym Reviews

Our mission is to inform, inspire, and connect the Garage Gym Community. We want you to get the most of your money, time and performance.

We provide in-depth and honest reviews on everything fitness related.

fitness_center
Start Garage Gym Build
list
View Latest Reviews
build
See User Builds
message
Ask GGR
New + Update Review Featured Image

DIY Strongman Log Bar for Under $75

In this DIY Guide, we show you how to build a Homemade Strongman Log Bar for less than $75 for your home gym. Rather than spending $100's of dollars on a piece of equipment that likely won't see a ton of use, we suggest building one for much less.

Products Tested in Our Community

Our community provides unbiased reviews on thousands of pieces of fitness equipment.

Barbells Image

Barbells

297 Rated

Squat Racks Image

Squat Racks

240 Rated

Bumper Plates Image

Bumper Plates

58 Rated

Pull-Up Bars Image

Pull-Up Bars

27 Rated

Conditioning Equipment Image

Conditioning Equipment

304 Rated

Fitness Technology Image

Fitness Technology

117 Rated

Recovery Tools Image

Recovery Tools

47 Rated

Shoes Image

Shoes

53 Rated

Kettlebells Image

Kettlebells

40 Rated

Dumbbells Image

Dumbbells

26 Rated

Join The Community

Build your virtual garage gym and we'll provide real-time pricing from nearly every fitness retailer on the internet. Once assembled, you can share your equipment list with others, upload pictures to get feedback from the community and rate and review based on your experiences.

01

browse
equipment

Garage Gym Reviews provides 1000's of pieces of fitness products, reviews, and pricing suggestions for the community.

Browse Equipment

02

build & share
your garage gym

Build your equipment list with Garage Gym Reviews based upon our reviews and community ratings. Once built, you can share it with community for feedback and ideas.

Build Your Garage Gym

03

review & discuss
equipment

Review equipment, ask questions on compatibility, share DIY instructions, and help others experience the freedom of working out at home

Review Equipment

Latest Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

Concept 2 Model D Rower In-Depth Review

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

The Concept 2 Model D Rower is far and away the best rowing machine we've ever reviewed. In fact, it's one of the best pieces of fitness equipment we've ever used. This is also pretty much a unanimous opinion by anyone who's used a Concept 2 product. Yes, the Model D is an expensive piece of cardio equipment at nearly $1,000 shipped, but with the combination of an outstanding workout, extreme durability, and very high resale value if you decide to sell it, this is as safe of a recommendation for us to make as we ever have.

Rogue LT-1 50 Cal Trolley + Lever Arm Kit In-Depth Review Image

Rogue LT-1 50 Cal Trolley + Lever Arm Kit In-Depth Review

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Rogue LT-1 50 Cal Trolley + Lever Arm Kit is Rogue Fitness' adjustable lever arm system. After taking the Trolley and Lever Arm Kit through various workouts and testing all of the stated features, we are confident in giving it a high recommendation. It's costly, but does increase the versatility of your squat rack dramatically; it's also incredibly over-built and refined.

Kabuki Strength Kadillac Bar Review: The Cadillac of Multi-Grip Bars Image

Kabuki Strength Kadillac Bar Review: The Cadillac of Multi-Grip Bars

by Coop | updated 3 months ago

The Kabuki Strength Kadillac Bar is the best multi-grip bar we've reviewed. It features high attention to detail on areas that matter, a camber angle borrowed from the ever-popular Duffalo Bar, and a fit and finish that is top-notch. If you want the best and can stomach the price tag, we recommend the Kadillac.

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow Attachment Review - Worth the Cost? Image

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow Attachment Review - Worth the Cost?

by Coop | updated 10 days ago

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow is one of the most versatile cable machine attachments ever created. It's great as a "back blaster" for lat pulldowns and rows, but works just as well for curls and tricep work. In addition to that, it doubles as a deadlift jack and also works as a landmine. Honestly, unless you're conscious of all it does, you'll forget just how often you can use it. It is expensive and we do recommend it, but only to those that will use it's various capabilities and don't want to take up space with a ton of different attachments.

Best-in-Class Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

The Best Squat Racks for 2020 [Buying Guide]

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

The squat rack is the centerpiece of just about every home and garage gym in the world. As such, it should be versatile, durable, useful, and fit the space it will be used in.Based upon our use, experience, and community input, we've compiled the best power rack, half rack, squat stand, and fold-away squat rack for most people—including recommendations for various budgets.Here are our picks for each category for 2019.

The Best Olympic Barbell for 2020 Image

The Best Olympic Barbell for 2020

by coop | updated 12 days ago

After researching nearly 72 barbells, using over half of them, and legitimately testing 18 of the most popular options, we've determined that The Rogue Bar 2.0 from Rogue Fitness is the best Olympic Barbell for most people. Factoring in price, warranty, performance, and availability, The Rogue Bar 2.0 offers the best value and is the generally agreed upon option for those seeking a quality barbell that can be used for nearly every training application.

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020 Image

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

After wearing and testing nearly every current shoe designed for general training and CrossFit type workouts, we've determined that the best training shoes for 2017 are the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves. Although this is a fierce debate and our runner-up could easily hold the top spot depending on preferences, we find that overall, the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves are the best shoes for training.

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020 Image

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

After researching over 70 bumper plates, using 32 of them, we've determined that the best bumper plates for most people are the FringeSport Bumper Plates. The best competition bumper plates for most people are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Taking into consideration rubber used, durability, noise, appearance, price, warranty, and availability, these bumper plates will work well for any home gym, commercial gym, or CrossFit Affiliate.

Guide Articles   View All

Joe Rogan's Epic Studio Gym, Training, and Nutrition (Plus Supplement Stack) Image

Joe Rogan's Epic Studio Gym, Training, and Nutrition (Plus Supplement Stack)

by Coop | updated 8 months ago

Joe Rogan, the stand-up comedian, and Host of The Joe Rogan Experience Podcast has one EPIC gym. Located in his podcast studio, Joe has utilized the top equipment manufacturers and technology to create a world-class facility. Today, we’re going to detail the tools Joe used to build his studio gym along with the training plan, nutrition, and supplements he uses to build his body and mind.

The Ultimate Squat Rack Guide Image

The Ultimate Squat Rack Guide

by Coop | updated 3 months ago

The Squat Rack is the centerpiece of nearly every home gym. In the Ultimate Squat Rack Guide we cover your most asked questions on power racks and give our recommendations at various price points.

The 10 Best Exercise Bikes for A Home Gym in 2020 Image

The 10 Best Exercise Bikes for A Home Gym in 2020

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

After researching over 70 exercise bikes, and using a majority, we've decided to create a list of the 10 best exercise bikes at various budgets. This isn't a comprehensive list like some of our others, but rather quick suggestions depending on how much you have to spend.

Do-It-Yourself Equipment   View All

Feature Article Image

DIY Squat Rack Guide

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Squat Rack is the centerpiece for just about every home gym in the world. However, some people don't have the money or desire to buy a pre-made option. This is where the DIY Squat Rack comes in...

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack Image

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Having a home gym is one of the best parts of adulthood. But, something that can be even more fun is being able to workout outside. In steps the DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack. Enjoy this weekend project.

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica Image

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Crossover Symmetry is a program designed to strengthen the shoulder girdle leading to fewer injuries and an increase in lifts. This is how you can make your own DIY version.

DIY Belt Squat Machine Image

DIY Belt Squat Machine

by Coop | updated 9 months ago

The Belt Squat Machine is one of the most coveted pieces of gym equipment available today. Although there are many options, including those made by Westside Barbell, Pit Shark, Matt Wenning, and others, they're all pretty pricey. This DIY Belt Squat Machine requires no special skills and costs well under any other available options.

Newly Released Products   View All

Feature Article Image

Nike Metcon 5 Shoes Leaked (PLUS Mat Fraser's Edition)

by Coop | updated 7 months ago

The long-awaited Nike Metcon 5 Shoes have been leaked, and along with them, a new collaboration between 3-Time CrossFit Games Champion Mat Fraser and Nike. These are one of the most popular CrossFit shoes and this colorway is sure to be a hit.

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench Image

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

Rep Fitness has just released their new Competition FB-5000 Flat Bench after seeing the success of their other benches as well as the Rogue Thompson Fat Pad. At a value price point, the FB-50000 Competition Flat Bench is sure to be a great option for those looking for great alternative to the Rogue Monster Utility Bench.

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released! Image

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released!

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

FringeSport is producing some of the best value bumper plates available. With the Contrast Bumper Plates being released, you can now have their popular bumpers with a way to easily identify the weight.

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series  Image

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series

by Coop | updated 8 months ago

The Rep PR-4000 Power Rack is Rep Fitness's answer to the ever-popular Rogue Monster Lite. Combining high strength steel, unique colors, and a ton of accessories, the Rep PR-4000 should prove to be a beast of a rack at a price that is quite a bit cheaper than Rogue offerings.

Garage Gym Reviews
ON

Stay Strong, Live Long
© Garage Gym Reviews All Rights Reserved